Reader’s Progress #37

My own weekly meme where I keep track of books I’ve read, books I’ve had to put aside, and books I’ve reviewed for the past week.

Attempted:
Wildwood (Wildwood Trilogy, #1) by Colin MeloyWildwood by Colin Meloy (illustrations by Carson Ellis) – The best thing I could say about this book is that, for all the slight variations it provides, Wildwood reminds me of about sixty other children’s books I’ve read and enjoyed. Sadly this meant that as I neared pg. 100, I realized that I was relentlessly comparing this book to those other sixty and finding it a bit lacking. And that was when I decided to just call the whole thing off.

Were this a Decemberists’ album, I would simply pick and choose the parts I wanted to listen to and I would have had a great time. I do wish I could bring myself to hang in there because I know there were items as well as creatures of interest and I really do like the Decemberists, but at the moment I’d rather move on to something that will either surprise or delight me.

Reviewed:
Beautiful Days by Anna Godbersen
Flash and Bones by Kathy Reichs
Locke & Key vol. 1-4 by Joe Hill and illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez
Skyship Academy: The Pearl Wars by Nick James

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Reader's Progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

