Reader’s Progress #38

My weekly post where I keep track of books I’ve read, books I’ve had to put aside, and books I’ve reviewed for the past week. Since September ended this week, I’ve also listed my progress in terms of reading challenges and books I’ve read.

September in Review:
Read/Listened To: 19 books

Reading Challenges:
2011: 194 out of 200 books
Horror & Urban Fantasy: 27 books so far, goal has been met and exceeded
Nordic: 4 out of 11
Speculative Fiction: 20 books so far, goal has been met and exceeded

The bad news is I completely forgot about the Nordic Challenge this month. The good news is I still have time to get back to it and I’m very close to having read 200 books this year.

Anyway, this week I…

Read:
Boots by Angel Martinez3 Stars. A cute and quick M/M re-telling of “Puss in Boots.” I definitely enjoyed it and cared about the main characters, but I think parts of just didn’t work blend as well as others.

The Golden Haired Boy by Scarlet Blackwell4 Stars. A lovely, moody, and atmospheric piece of short M/M fiction. I really got lost in the overwhelming sadness and loneliness Johann felt. And I was profoundly relieved when he found happiness. I suppose the story was predictable in some ways, I loved the setting and I loved both of the main characters.

Creepella Von Cracklefur #1: The Thirteen Ghosts by Geronimo Stilton
The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Reviewed:
Fateful by Claudia Gray
7th Sigma by Steven Gould

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Reader's Progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reader’s Progress #38

  1. Pingback: 7 Benefits of Reading One Book in 7 Days « wordkonnect

Leave a Reply

