Teaser Tuesdays #31

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish event hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Since October equals Halloween to me, expect all of mine to be on the creepy side.

The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories by H. P. Lovecraft  This week, I offer you a massive helping of H. P. Lovecraft all from the Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition of The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Tales. Because it wouldn’t be Halloween without some mention of Lovecraft. Not for me anyway. Of course, I will pretty much use any excuse or reason to mention Lovecraft at any time, but I digress.

My Teasers:

But I was not far behind, for there was no doubt after another second. It was the eldritch scurrying of those fiend-born rats, always questing for new horrors, and determined to lead me on even unto those grinning caverns of earth’s centre where Nyarlathotep, the mad faceless god, howls blindly in the darkness to the piping of two amorphous idiot flute–players.
– pg. 107, “The Rats in the Walls”

To me, with my first-hand impression of the actual sounds, and with my knowledge of the background and surrounding circumstances, the voice was a monstrous thing. It swiftly followed the human voice in ritualistic response, but in my imagination it was a morbid echo winging its way across unimaginable abysses from unimaginable outer hells.
– pg. 220, “The Whisperer in Darkness”

I shall plan my cousin’s escape from that Canton mad-house, and together we shall go to marvel-shadowed Innsmouth. We shall swim out to that brooding reef in the sea and dive down through black abysses to Cyclopean and many-columned Y’ha-nthlei, and in that lair of the Deep Ones we shall dwell amidst wonder and glory for ever.
– pg. 335, “The Shadow Over Innsmouth”

Although I think this collection is a pretty great pick for anyone in need of a hearty infusion of the Halloween spirit or looking to start reading Lovecraft, you can read quite a lot of his stories online and for free, thanks to Project Gutenberg Australia.

And I totally recommend viewing the documentary Lovecraft: Fear of the Unknown, which is also available for free through Snag Films. It is an awesome look not only at a very troubled writer who was probably as much an outsider as the strange creatures he created, but at the enormous influence he has had on a wide range of authors, directors, and artists.

What are your Tuesday reads? If you have any Teasers, feel free to link me to them in a comment!

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Teaser Tuesdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Teaser Tuesdays #31

  1. I love Lovecraft and all his eldritch horrors! Perfect for Halloween. Good teasers!

  2. Mirka says:

    I have to read something from Lovecraft by the end of the month. It wouldn’t feel like October without it. 🙂 Good teasers.
    My TT

  3. Oh, I like how you gave us a few teasers for the different sections here. 🙂 Thank you! And hope you are loving it.

Leave a Reply

