Reader’s Progress #40

My weekly post where I keep track of books I’ve read, books I’ve had to put aside, and books I’ve reviewed for the past week. This week, I…

Attempted:
Gossip Girl, Psycho Killer (Gossip Girl #13) by Cecily von Ziegesar Gossip Girl, Psycho Killer by Cecily von Ziegesar – I was really looking forward to this book, but I found it absolutely impossible to finish because it really relies far too heavily on gimmicky appeal. I really wish the book had been a more imaginative re-working of the original, but just reading the same thing with some morbid thoughts sprinkled in was incredibly boring.

 

Read:
Boneshaker by Cherie Priest
A lot of Geronimo Stilton chapter books

Reviewed:
The Curse of the Wendigo by Rick Yancey
The Man in the Moon by William Joyce
The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

Worked On:
Flesh and Fire (Vineart War #1) by Laura Anne GilmanFlesh and Fire by Laura Anne Gilman – Surprisingly good so far. I love the world-building and Jerzy. I plan on reading more of it tonight inbetween watching Halloween programs on Food Network. Probably while drinking some wine.

If you’re interested in winning Flesh and Fire as well as the rest of the Vineart War Trilogy, check out my Giveaway! You have 2 more days to enter.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Reader's Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reader’s Progress #40

  1. Hey Lady! says:

    Is that Gossip Girl book really just a re-telling of the same story? That’s really strange. I saw this book at Barnes and Noble last week and thought it was really odd that the cover was the same as the first book, but with blood and knives. I never thought it was a retelling of the first book.

    Glad to know it’s not worth my time, I read the original and it was alright, and if you’d said it was a hilarious redo with horror added, I might be interested, but not now. Too many good books to read.

    • I’m sure at some point it changed and went in a somewhat different direction since eventually I think everyone was going to kill everyone else, but the parts I made it through were way too much like the original book with the occasional morbid thought. And everyone liking creepy things instead of normal things.

      And I know what you mean. That’s totally why I gave up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

