RIP, Archangel’s Blade

As a librarian, I pride myself on taking excellent care of my books as well as library books. I’ve lost my share of them to floods and subsequent water damage, but it’s only lately that I’ve been the culprit behind my own book loss. For example, last night at approximately 10:49 PM, I discovered to my abject horror that I had washed my brand new copy of Archangel’s Blade by Nalini Singh along with my sheets, towels, and pillow-cases.

Archangel's Blade (Guild Hunter, #4) by Nalini SinghThe scene of my crime was pretty depressing. Bits of paper everywhere in the dryer and the smell of lavender clinging to the air thanks to the capful of Downy Unstopable that I had put in. What was left of my book was the lovechild of lint and a recycled paper-making project gone horribly awry. No really discernible characteristics remained to the untrained eye. The book-shaped blob could not be identified by its next of kin from the Guild Hunter series or even by its more distant relations from the Psy/Changeling series. Thanks to my own forsensic expertise I was able to make out a blurb and the faint imprint remnants of Dmitri’s handsome face.

I was sad about it last night as well as frustrated about other things, but today I just feel ridiculous about the whole affair. I also wish I could come up with a good Horatio Caine joke. So far all I’ve got is “I’ve seen a lot of crime scenes. But nothing as novel as this.” or “Someone should have told her. Not everything comes out in the wash.” Followed by a very loud YEEEEAAHH! But I digress.

Happily I was able to buy myself a replacement copy on the way to work. All the same I’m curious. What horrible book-related disasters have you been put through? Have you ever stumbled upon your own novel-related crime scene?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Librarian's Lament and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to RIP, Archangel’s Blade

  1. Nikki says:

    LOL….Lets see…I have a toddler so she decided that my books needed a bath and proceeded to put them in the tub and fill it up with water…Its my fault because, well, she is my partner in crime!! I have also washed a book that got tangled up in my sheets after my daughter had thrown up all over them 🙂 It was a GA Aiken novel, the fourth in her dragon series to which I have just recently replaced!! It happens to us all,

  2. marleneharris says:

    We have 4 cats. Three of them have very tender tummies. That’s being polite, especially considering I just had to launder the results of the most recent…episode. Before the last drastic book weed, every flat surface was covered in books, and I would regularly find that a stack had been…decorated. Since we started used ereaders, there is less opportunity for the…dear little things. But I fear for my iPad. If it ever happens, the scream will echo for miles.
    p.s. When they behave, they’re our cats, When they misbehave, they’re my husband’s cats.

  3. Hey Lady! says:

    I live in Texas, and it get hot here in the Summer time. I left my copy of “Dead Witch Walking” in the car and forgot about it for a couple of days. When I brought it into the house I discovered it had baked in the sun, making it brittle and loosening the glue that holds in the pages. Several pages fell out as I was reading it.
    It really wasn’t all that upsetting, thankfully. The damage did not make it unreadable and the book turned out to be terrible anyway!

Leave a Reply

