eBooks and Me: More Thoughts

If you haven’t heard about all the nonsense with Penguin, Kindle, and Overdrive, it’s fairly easy to catch up on through the Google News feed. Or Library Journal. Or Forbes. Or Publisher’s Weekly.

I’d rather not offer up a rehashed take on the debacle, but basically Penguin went back and forth for a bit on lending eBook titles to Kindle users through OverDrive, a database used by library patrons. As a result and without any warning, access to titles was taken away. Granted most if not all of the access was returned, but the whole thing is pretty troubling on many levels.

As a librarian, obviously I think it is pretty nightmarish and wrong that any library eBook can just be snatched out of the electronic hands of a patron with or without preamble. As a reader, I feel that this whole situation is one of many reasons why I will never be giving up on printed books and also why I have a hard time believing that printed books will go away very quickly.

Outside of magic, natural disasters, and theft, it is very difficult to whisk away physical books let alone deny access or delete them out of existence. I cannot imagine living in a world where all the books I want or own are subject to someone else’s approval and permission. I also can’t imagine not wanting to have options when it comes to reading because the experience of reading on an eReader versus a printed books is quite different. More over, there looks like there’s a plethora of issues left to be ironed out in terms of eReaders and eBooks. Most of them are problems that you simply cannot encounter with a physical copy of a book either.

Obviously I don’t think eBooks should be written off as a lost cause and I greatly enjoy purchasing as well as reading the occasional eTitle, but I don’t think they’re well on their way to replacing print books completely. Or at all.

What do you think?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Librarian's Lament and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to eBooks and Me: More Thoughts

  1. DL says:

    There is nothing like sitting and leafing through a book from cover to cover. A visceral experience that I will NOT give up. Many reasons, for one, we look at too many screens as it is! Is this technology really necessary? My eyes cannot take it. I prefer the softer light of my lamp reflecting off the pages of the book. What about the experience of walking into a book store or library and seeing the rows upon rows of books to choose from? Can you do that with a Kindle?? It is just not the same for me. I do not like to do research from a screen, I prefer gathering my info from the books I have and will buy. I will stick with tradition that has been passed down from the sages of old. If you are worried about trees, why not demand that books be published from recycled paper? I vote for PAPER and HARDBOARD! That’s a tradition that should not be messed with!

    Have a hoot reading your BOOK, I am!!!!

    love, DL

  2. I just ordered a kindle yesterday. My Christmas gift. I was very anti ebook mostly fear that they would result in paper copies going away. The more I think about it though there is no way they would ever go away completely. There is nothing to fear as that wonderful smell and feel that can only come from a paper copy will live forever and ebooks clearly still have issues. Not cool to take away like that but I’m glad I’ll soon be playing with my new toy. Still got to make room on the shelves for the paper copies I’ll be buying too though 🙂

  3. Paul D. Dail says:

    An interesting post. While I am still a real book reader, I’m not completely opposed to e-books (it would be rather hypocritical seeing as I’ve released my book for e-readers). However, I hadn’t thought of the possibility of someone being able to take away someone’s e-books at any given time. Very Orwellian/Bradbury-esque. Yikes.

    Anyway, I found a great post by Kim Koning on this topic. If I were to tag it, it would be, “No need to debate between the two media forms. Just become a book connoisseur.” I think you’d like it.

    http://kimkoning.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/my-book-art-gallery/

    Hope you have a good Tuesday.

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

    • It’s decidedly troubling, but one can only hope that situations like this will result in some good decisions made by publishers and other eBook-related businesses in regards to library use.

      That’s an interesting article and a neat idea too. I don’t think I’ll ever feel like turning my physical books into art, but having both electronic and non options available just makes much more sense to me than getting rid of print books for virtual replacements..

  4. J.D. says:

    Absolutely agree with everything you said, April!! How frustrating for library patrons. 😦

  5. I have a Barnes and Noble “Nook”, yet I still buy regular books at Half Priced Books and Goodwill all the time. The prices on e-books are completely unfair considering the deduction in the cost of publication. The cost of the e-book should reflect that.

    That being said, the biggest two reasons it’s great to have an e-reader is self-published books that authors that you wouldn’t have access to without an e-reader, and portability. It’s awesome to be able to go on a trip with my entire library of e-books in my purse.

Leave a Reply

