My Christmas Reading

There is nothing I love better than Christmas and anything related to it. That love can be somewhat tempered until December rolls around, but like Jack Skellington I know the stories and I know the rhymes. And I know the Christmas carols all by heart. And all the songs from the Claymation films.

Every year I think I’ll end up feeling less in love with Christmas, but I couldn’t even sleep last night just thinking about the magical warm fuzziness of the season and all the books I need to read before it is past. Because like everything else in my life, there’s a book for that.

So in addition to having to re-watch Nightmare Before Christmas and The Muppets’ Christmas Carol, I have to re-read these 3 books:

<The Story of Holly and Ivy by Rumer Godden, Barbara Cooney    The Story of Holly and Ivy by Rumer Gooden and illustrated by Barabara Cooney – Ivy, Holly, and Mr. and Mrs. Jones each have one Christmas wish. Ivy, an orphan, wishes for a real home and sets out in search of the grandmother she’s sure she can find. Holly, a doll, wishes for a child to bring her to life. And the Joneses wish more than anything for a child to share their holiday. Can all three wishes come true?

This book is just so precious to me and just thinking about it makes me happy. Well, outside of thinking about the creepy owl toy, but I digress. My copy of this is absolutely falling apart, but it is one of the only books from my childhood that has managed to stay with me through the years despite copious amounts of flood. 

The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus by L. Frank Baum  The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus by L. Frank Baum – After growing up in an enchanted forest with elves and wood nymphs, evil Awgwas, and the master woodsman Ak, Claus makes his first toy, ventures out on Christmas Eve, chooses his reindeer, and starts climbing down chimneys.

The best origin story for Santa Claus ever. And the Claymation adapatation is very enjoyable as well.

Hogfather (Discworld #20) by Terry Pratchett   Hogfather by Terry Pratchett – Who would want to harm Discworld’s most beloved icon? Very few things are held sacred in this twisted, corrupt, heartless — and oddly familiar — universe, but the Hogfather is one of them. Yet here it is, Hogswatchnight, that most joyous and acquisitive of times, and the jolly old, red-suited gift-giver has vanished without a trace. And there’s something shady going on involving an uncommonly psychotic member of the Assassins’ Guild and certain representatives of Ankh-Morpork’s rather extensive criminal element. Suddenly Discworld’s entire myth system is unraveling at an alarming rate. Drastic measures must be taken, which is why Death himself is taking up the reins of the fat man’s vacated sleigh . . . which, in turn, has Death’s level-headed granddaughter, Susan, racing to unravel the nasty, humbuggian mess before the holiday season goes straight to hell and takes everyone along with it.

Easily one of the most hilarious and fantastic books of all time. And one that I read –and often read aloud– every year. It’s sort of become tradition.

What books do you read in order to get into the spirit of the season?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Nostalgia, Bookish Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Christmas Reading

  1. Haa haa, sorry I had to laugh at the Terry Pratchett cover. ;D Hope you enjoy your holiday reads! 😀

  2. Lindsay says:

    Have you seen the miniseries based on Hogfather? It’s pretty spectacular.

    (To get in the holiday spirit, I subject myself to WAY TOO MANY movies, books, music, etc. chronicled at http://www.mainliningchristmas.com)

Leave a Reply

