2012 Reading Resolutions

Goals:

– I read 289 books in 2011. I was hoping to only read around 200, but that’s not too bad. And honestly there’s no sense angsting over a book addiction. In 2012, I plan to read however many books I do without questioning or analyzing and sans guilt.

– In 2012, I plan to do better by one of last year’s goals and write in a more equal proportion to the amount I read. I will also devote more time to the craft projects I would like to complete in the near future.

Resolutions:

– I will allow myself to buy books regardless of how often I imagine I will read them and spend less time visiting bookstores only to walk away with nothing. I also plan on really stock-piling manga.

– Somewhat conversely, I will read more of the books I’ve bought in recent years and haven’t gotten around to.

– I will continue to check out mountains of books from libraries, but I will only try to only request review copies of books that I’m actually dying to read.

– I will continue to be better about buying more freely from smaller presses that I would like to support such as Dreamspinner, Samhain, Loose ID, and countless others.

– I will continue to give myself permission to not read even if it is for days or weeks on end.

– I will continue to give myself permission not to review a book if I would rather not do so for whatever reason and regardless of how the book came to me.

– I will attempt to read some Bizarro books instead of spending hours of my life eyeing their summaries and covers with a mixture of confusion and curiosity on GoodReads.

– I will attempt The Eye of the World yet again since I didn’t manage to read it in 2011.

– I will finish reading the A Song of Ice and Fire books that are out and then possibly cross-stitch wall hangings of the sigils of various houses. Or at least House Lannister.

Do you have any reading goals or resolutions for next year? If you had any for 2011, how did they work out for you?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012 Reading Resolutions

  1. DL says:

    Hey April,

    You forgot to add that you will continue to recommend and find great books for me to read as you are my chief book finder! I miss your book finds for me! I resolve to plow through more non-fiction to study for my yoga teaching, and add to my ever-increasing shelves of yoga books and magazines. Now all I need is to make the time to sit and read them!

    Hugs! DL

  2. Oh you have great plans for the new year. 🙂 I do wish you all the best with them. I did a post as well. BUt I didn’t have as many great ideas as you did here. 🙂 Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

