Looking for Love in All the Wrong Books

February is all about the love, but I’m not feeling it. At all. Not when it comes to reading. I keep getting anywhere between 70 to 130 pages into a book and then failing to care completely about finishing or not. Most of the time? The book is good and worth finishing so I try to just keep going, dragging my feet all the while.

It’s sort of stupid, but I just know I’m not madly head over heels in love with any of them nor likely to be, and contrary to what some reviews I’ve posted may indicate? I hate not liking what I read. Right now the thought of settling for even a middle-of-the-road anything makes me glum as can be.

Maybe I’m just picky, maybe my reading selections are dopey, maybe reading isn’t very inspiraing to me right now? But maybe it doesn’t matter and I should read something older. Something comforting. Something tried and true. After all, true love needs to withstand the test of time.

I think a piece of this sentiment comes from knowing that my wait for The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King will eventually be over* in a few months’ time and once again I’ll spend some time with Roland. But I suspect a lot of this new desire to abandon the new and read the old stems from having the room to allow my book collection to grow and spread like some sort of alien plague. Because I can see my books, and my roommate’s as well, I am now unable to resist the urge to gaze longingly at my huckleberry paper friends as I recall the halcyon days we spent together in the springtime of our youth.

So here are some of the books at the top of the list of titles/series openers that I want to revisit someday soon:

  • Bleach by Tite Kubo
  • A Cavern of Black Ice by J. V. Jones
  • Elfquest by Wendy & Richard Pini
  • Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton
  • The Gunslinger by Stephen King
  • The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien
  • In the Company of Ogres by A. Lee Martinez
  • Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
  • Naked in Death by J. D. Robb
  • Narcissus and Goldmund by Herman Hesse
  • Naruto by Mashashi Kishimoto
  • Perdido Street Station by China Mieville
  • Redwall by Brian Jacques
  • The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice
  • Wildacre by Phillippa Gregory
  • Wise Child by Monica Furlong

These titles are in alphabetical order, not order of preference. It’s also worth noting that there’s a truly epic backstory between me and nearly all of these books, but I’ll save that for another post on another day.

 What books would you like to revisit soon?
What titles are you pining for?

* I put a hold on my library’s pre-ordered copy back in November. I will buy it if it seems worthy of my keeper shelf. It’s hard to say just yet. Cover’s awesome though.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Nostalgia, Bookish Thoughts, Librarian's Lament and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Looking for Love in All the Wrong Books

  1. Heather says:

    There are so many books I’m definitely planning on rereading (mainly my sexy cowboy books lol). I’m writing down some of the books off your list so I can check them out 🙂

  2. Sorry you are having a rough month in books. I do hope it gets better for you, and you get that one you are so excited for. 🙂 I have one book I don’t really want to read at the moment, but I’m working through it…slowly. Not that it’s a bad book, just I’m not in the mood for it. *sigh* happens. Hope you have a better month.

Leave a Reply

