Graphic Novel Reviews: Black Bird vol. 12, Darwin’s Diaries vol. 1, and Pandemonium

Black Bird vol. 12 by Kanoko Sakurakouji  Black Bird vol. 12 by Kanoko Sakurakouji (Viz) – 4 Stars. A really great installment in a series that I’m absolutely addicted to. I really am so glad that there’s more of a focus on the Tengu, particularly the bonds between Kyo and his clan. Also the romance between Kyo and Misao has become more relaxed and sweet rather than somewhat weirdly obsessive and discomfiting. I am also very concerned for Hoki and longing for volume 13!

The Eye of the Celts: Darwin's Diaries #1 by Eduardo Ocana and Sylvain Runberg The Eye of the Celts: Darwin’s Diaries #1 by Eduardo Ocana and Sylvain Runberg (Cinebook) – 2.5 Stars. This volume left me with more questions than answers and not in a good way. However, I’m curious to see what Darwin’s deal/damage ends up being as well as finding out the cause behind the monster he’s investigating. I’m not sure I could recommend this title without seeing how the next volume plays out, but it does remind me a little bit of The Monstrumologist series by Rick Yancey.

Pandemonium by Chris Wooding and Cassandra Diaz  Pandemonium by Chris Wooding and Cassandra Diaz (Scholastic) – 4 Stars. Although I do sort of wish there had been a bit more substance and explanations, I was completely won over by the artwork. Not to mention how quirky, imaginative, and endearing the characters, the world, and the demonic Prince and the Pauper plot were. I also really liked the humor of it all. I think this will really appeal to fans of Avatar: The Last Airbender, Naruto, and Kazu Kibuishi’s Amulet. If there’s a sequel, I will definitely be back for more Seifer and Carcassa.

Advertisements

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Graphic Novel, Library Book, Mini Review, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Graphic Novel Reviews: Black Bird vol. 12, Darwin’s Diaries vol. 1, and Pandemonium

  1. yaykisspurr says:

    I’m intrigued!

    What is Blackbird about?

    Cheers!

    • April says:

      Black Bird is about a girl named Misao who ends up being the love interest for a lot of demons including a crow tengu named Kyo who used to live next door to her when they were kids. Her blood has weird restorative properties and so most of the demon clans ending fighting over her. It’s mushy at times and a little odd at others, but it’s a lot of fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s