Graphic Novel Reviews: Black Bird vol. 13, Black Butler vol. 8, and Hellraiser vol. 2: Requiem

Black Bird vol. 13 by Kanoko Sakurakouji  Black Bird vol. 13 by Kanoko Sakurakouji (Viz) – 4 Stars.     I really love how things have progressed in this series to the point where not only do I have a great fondness for the leads, but for everyone else as well. Kyo’s relationship with his daitengu is really sweet. I love how he finally got through to Hoki. Miaso’s scenes with Sho were really fascinating as well. Sho’s still kinda sketchy, but he’s really sort of a sad sociopath. I’m really hoping the next volume will not involve him dying.

Black Butler vol. 8 by Yana Toboso  Black Butler vol. 8 by Yana Toboso (Yen Press) – 4 Stars. It’s been awhile since I read the volumes that came before this one, but over all I enjoyed the story. Ciel and Sebastian are both severely messed-up in their own unique ways, which makes for a really cool read. I enjoyed the quirkiness of the volume as well as the fact that the conclusion to their dealings with the strange circus was about as sad and scarring as I expected it to be.

Clive Barker's Hellraiser Vol. 2 by Clive Barker Hellraiser vol. 2: Requiem by Clive Barker (Boom!Studios) – 1 Star. I loved volume 1, but outside of showcasing some lovely and/or gorey artwork, I just can’t quite figure out the point of volume 2. Character motivations were either off or lacking, things happened without even a horror movie logic being applied to them, and I don’t think I like where this is going at all. Considering that I’ve seen every lame movie sequels and that the artwork for these graphic novels remains top-notch, I’m sure I’ll be back for volume 3… But I wouldn’t recommend joining me.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Graphic Novel, Manga/Manhwa, Mini Review, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

