Highlights from the Book Horde #54

Highlights from the Book Horde is a weekly post where I list the awesome books I’ve bought, borrowed, received in the mail, or checked out of the library.

The awesome, very exciting, and incredibly distracting C2E2 (Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo) has come and gone so hopefully I’ll be getting back to my regularly scheduled updates.

I also forsee a trip to the comic book store and the purchasing of single issues in my near future due to really engaging panels. And despite the guilty feelings that comes from involving myself in something that makes someone else (i. e. Alan Moore) really upset…  Before Watchmen looks amazing. For the most part. I’m still not sure I’m interested in Silk Spectre since it’s “a romance comic with beatings.” But I digress.

Bought:
Avengers: Vision & Scarlet Witch: A Year in the Life by Steve Englehart – I already had all 12 issues, but it’s nice to have a book version so I don’t have to worry about old comics falling apart. Despite the horrible way this miniseries treats Quicksilver for not wanting to take back his cheating wife, I love it a lot.

Fantastic Four: Season One by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa

Spider-man & The Human Torch by Dan Slott & Ty Templeton

In the Mail:

Darth Vader and Son by Jeffrey Brown  A copy of Darth Vader and Son by Jeffrey Brown (April 18) from Chronicle Books to go along with some awesome promos for my library. Someone seems to have chewed on the cover, but it’s still perfectly readable and full of awesome.

Railsea  ARC of Railsea by China Miéville (May 15) from Del Ray/Random House. Arrived yesterday via FedEx which was surreal because I was not in a million years expecting to actually get a copy. Ask and it shall be given unto you, apparently. Also…IT HAS ILLUSTRATIONS!

Won:
Mongrel by K. Z. Snow – A prize for the 2012 Horror/Thriller Reading Challenge run by Mary over at Sweeping Me. This title is not Horror, but I figured since it was a reward, it was okay to pick something outside of the genre.

What books did you get this week?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Horde, Graphic Novel, Shiny New Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Highlights from the Book Horde #54

  1. Pingback: LAST WEEK on the ‘net | Ty Templeton's ART LAND!!

Leave a Reply

