RIP, Maurice Sendak

Little Bear by Else Holmelund Minarik, Maurice Sendak (Illustrator)  Alligators All Around by Maurice Sendak Pierre: A Cautionary Tale by Maurice Sendak Chicken Soup with Rice: A Book of Months by Maurice Sendak Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

Sendak’s recent interviews with Stephen Colbert were fantastic, and it’s horribly depressing to have lost someone so essential to children’s literature during Children’s Book Week, but he definitely won’t be forgotten.

I will always be thankful to him not just for Where The Wild Things Are but for Really Rosie, which I pretty much watched non-stop as a very young person.

I can’t think of anything else to say so I’ll leave you with one of many awesome quotes from Sendak himself:

And it is through fantasy that children achieve catharsis. It is the best means they have for taming wild things.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Announcement, Bookish Nostalgia, Bookish Thoughts, Children's Book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RIP, Maurice Sendak

  1. mmromance says:

    I can remember being seven years old, entering the school library like it was the promised land — really, there was nothing better to me than that library — and I found Where The Wild Things Are. Funnily enough, as much as I raved about it, my mother would never purchase for me. She had the idea it would give me nightmares. So I never had the book for a bedtime story. But for a long time I visited it every day at school.

    Maybe it’s not too late to buy myself a copy.

  2. melissamyworldinwordsandpages says:

    This is sad. Such a lose. RIP. 😦

Leave a Reply

