General Update

Lately I’ve been having one heck of a time finishing books and reviewing them.

There are two reasons for this.

The first is I tend to prefer finishing books I’m genuinely excited about. If I stick with a book, my hope is that I will gush about it in the end. That doesn’t always pan out, but that is the initial intent.

The second is I derive no pleasure whatsoever in finding problems with books and writing bad reviews of them. Unless a book was so painfully ridiculous that it was actually entertaining, it’s frankly very difficult to write  I really see no point in taking a milque-toast middle of the road read to task. Or trying to write a review that will wind up being basically a long-winded way of saying “This is a book I read with my eyes. Other people with eyes might enjoy it. My eyes did not.”

As a result? I’ve really been struggling with what to do with this book blog because I want to keep doing it and I want to keep enjoying it but the truth is I rarely enjoy the sort of books everyone enjoys and I have no interest in pretending to. At the end of the day, I don’t want to jump ship. I want to keep working to make this work.

So I hope you’ll bear with me despite the slow speed at which I’ve been updating. If my reading morale doesn’t improve, I think I will make posts about books on a particular theme, bookish memories, book recommendations for young readers, and possibly PS3 game reviews since I finally got a new gaming system.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Announcement, Librarian's Lament. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to General Update

  1. Please be true to yourself. Life is too short to do otherwise. 🙂

    • April says:

      Agreed. My reviews always end up being my honest opinion but… it is tiresome to read a lot of books I don’t like that other people did and try to come up with something positive to say. 🙂

      • stephanieabbottbooks says:

        Of course! More authors I know understand if they receive an email that says “Sorry, I am adding your book to my DNF pile. I am sure you would prefer that to an unfavorable review.” I have had a few of those messages, and I was always grateful.

      • April says:

        Totally. 🙂

        There’s not much it in for me as a reader to go on and on about a book I didn’t like although in some cases it’s unavoidable. But that’s usually books where the only reason I read it all the way through is I was hoping the last part would make the rest of it make more sense.

  2. No problem at all! And I understand wanting to read and review books you enjoyed. I try to do the same. Enjoy yourself, we are here with you. 🙂

    • April says:

      Thank you! I always hope to like or love just about everything I pick up, but lately I’m just realizing more and more that certain genres just aren’t for me.

Leave a Reply

