On My Wishlist #6

WishlistOn My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It’s a meme where participants list books they want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

The Inventor's Companion by Ariel Tachna  The Inventor’s Companion by Ariel Tachna – I love the cover and it just came out yesterday.

Gabriel Blackstone’s world is divided quite clearly into castes: everyone knows their place and abides by it. As an inventor in the merchant caste, his life is predictable in its routine until the night his best friends and assistants, Caleb and Andrew, purchase the time—and body—of a companion for his birthday. As an activist in the Caste Equality movement, everything Gabriel believes in tells him to refuse the gift, but then he meets Lucio. The beautiful and alluring companion is far more than the vapid courtesan he’d expected, and he can’t get the man out of his mind.

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier   Ruby Red by Kerstin Gir – Lovely cover and intriguing plot.

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era! Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon, the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Wilder's Mate (Bloodhounds #1) by Moira Rogers  Wilder’s Mate by Moira Rogers – This came out on Tuesday, and I really need to read it. I love the cover and the warning:

This book contains a crude, gun-slinging, vampire-hunting hero who howls at the full moon and a smart, stubborn heroine who invents mad-scientist weapons. Also included: wild frontier adventures, brothels, danger, betrayal and a good dose of wicked loving in an alternate Wild West.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in On My Wishlist, Shiny New Books, To Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On My Wishlist #6

  1. Kat @ A Journey Into Reading says:

    Ruby Red sounds great! I love a good time travel story…I will have to add this one to my list. Thanks for stopping by my blog!!

  2. Pussreboots says:

    Here are ten more wishes. I add books to my list faster than I can either read them or blog about them!

  3. Mel S says:

    I love stories about time travel (there aren’t enough of them around) so I really want Ruby Red now!! Another one for my own wish list! 🙂 Hope you get them all soon!

  4. Oh great wishlist! I’ve seen the Moira book around the web already recently. 🙂 Hope you get them all and enjoy them. 🙂

  5. Noel R. says:

    You have inspired me to pick up The Inventor’s Companion! =D Looks remarkably like my sort of funtime reading. =3

Leave a comment