On My Wishlist #24

WishlistOn My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It’s a meme where participants list books they want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

This week, I’m wishing for…

Lights on the Nile by Donna Jo Napoli  Lights on the Nile by Donna Jo Napoli (September 20th, HarperCollins) – Kepi is a young girl in ancient Egypt, content to stay home with her family, helping her father, who was wounded in the construction of a pyramid for the cruel pharaoh Khufu. But that was before she and her pet baboon, Babu, were kidnapped and held captive on a boat bound for the capital city, Ineb Hedj. And when Kepi and Babu are separated, she knows she has only one choice: to make her way to the capital on her own, rescue Babu, and find a way to appeal to the pharaoh. The pharaoh is rich and powerful, but Kepi has her own powers—ones she herself doesn’t even know about yet. 

Magus of Stonewylde by Kit Berry  Magus of Stonewylde by Kit Berry (No idea for the US, but it is out in the UK.) – Sylvie is dying. A victim of crippling allergies, poisoned by the pollution and chemicals of modern life, Sylvie is trapped in a hospital bed while her mother and doctors watch her life slipping away. But one of them offers her a chance. There’s an alternative community – Stonewylde – hidden away behind high boundary walls in a corner of Dorset. If their leader, the charismatic Magus, would let Sylvie visit then perhaps the clean air and green lifestyle may restore her vitality. Or at least give her some measure of peace before she dies. It’s a chance, and when Sylvie and her mother take it, they find themselves in a haven of tranquillity and beauty.

But it’s not all idyllic. The Magus sends a moody, secretive Village boy to work in their garden as a punishment. He warns them to stay away from him – he’s rebellious and in deep trouble. But Sylvie is curious about Yul and, as their forbidden friendship grows, she sees that all is not quite as it seems at Stonewylde. Why was she told to keep away from Yul – and why are she and her mother so drawn to the Magus? Is the crone on the hill really a powerful wise-woman, or just a crazed old hag bent on destroying the peace with her wild prophecies? And what exactly is the magical secret at the heart of this seemingly perfect community?

What’s On Your Wishlist this week?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in On My Wishlist, To Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On My Wishlist #24

  1. Amy says:

    Cool picks! I really like the description of the second one. I think I’ll be adding it to my ever-growing TRB list 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Both of those look good & suitable for the school library. Let me know what you think of them if you get to read them 😀

  3. Bungle says:

    I have been looking at the Kit Berry book in the shop for a while now, it looks really good!

  4. Both of these sound interesting. Hope you get to read them soon 🙂

  5. neer says:

    Interesting books. Hope you get them soon.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  6. Oh you know Magus of Stonewylde by Kit Berry is on my want list too! 🙂 I’m really curious about it. It sounds like a great read. Hope you get and enjoy both of these. 🙂

Leave a comment